Polish Cognitive Linguistics Association Conference 2019

The Polish Cognitive Linguistics Association (PTJK/PCLA) is pleased to announce its annual 2019 conference to be held from 26th September till 28th September in Bialystok, Poland. The conference will be locally organized and hosted by the Institute of Modern Languages of the University of Białystok. 

Theproject is financed from the grant received from the Polish Ministry of Scienceand Higher Education under the Regional Initiative of Excellence programme for the years 2019-2022,project number 009/RID/2018/19, the amount of funding 8 791 222,00 zloty.

PTJK is an affiliate of International Cognitive Linguistics Association (ICLA). Please visit PTJK website for more information.

PCLA conferences are held annually to provide an academic platform for cognitive linguists to present their research findings, exchange ideas, share experiences and research results, explore opportunities for collaboration, and recognize outstanding achievements within their scientific community. We hope that the 2019 PCLA Conference will attract the best minds, and bring together researchers and scholars in the cognitive enterprise. The three-day conference will be held in English and Polish.


  • Professor Alan Cienki – Department of Language, Literature and Communication, Vrije Universiteit Amsterdam, Netherlands
  • Professor Dagmar Divjak – Department of Modern Languages & Department of English Language and Linguistics, University of Birmingham, UK
  • Professor Jeannette Littlemore – Department of English Language and Applied Linguistics, University of Birmingham, UK
  • Professor Jordan Zlatev – Centre for Cognitive Semiotics, Lund University, Sweden

You may expect an update in the Second Call for Papers (including presentation and publication guidelines).


Alan Cienki – Vrije Universiteit Amsterdam,
Dagmar Divjak – University of Birmingham,
Małgorzata Fabiszak – Uniwersytet im. Adama Mickiewicza w Poznaniu,
Dirk Geeraerts – Katholieke Universiteit Leuven,
Adam Głaz – Uniwersytet Marii Curie-Skłodowskiej w Lublinie,
Elżbieta Górska – Uniwersytet Warszawski,
Marcin Grygiel – Uniwersytet Rzeszowski,
Beate Hampe – Universität Erfurt,
Martin Hilpert – Université de Neuchâtel,
Henryk Kardela – Uniwersytet Marii Curie-Skłodowskiej w Lublinie,
Zoltán Kövecses – Eötvös Loránd University,
Ronald W. Langacker -University of California,
Barbara Lewandowska-Tomaszczyk – Państwowa Wyższa Szkoła Zawodowa w Koninie,
Agnieszka Libura – Uniwersytet Wrocławski,
Jeannette Littlemore -University of Birmingham,
Günter Radden – Universität Hamburg,
Farzad Sharifian – MONASH University,
Waldemar Skrzypczak – Uniwersytet Mikołaja Kopernika w Toruniu,
Irena Szczepankowska – Uniwersytet w Białymstoku,
Elżbieta Tabakowska – Uniwersytet Jagielloński,
Marjolijn H. Verspoor, University of Groningen,
Krystyna Waszakowa – Uniwersytet Warszawski,
Jordan Zlatev – Lund University,
Halina Święczkowska – Uniwersytet w Białymstoku.


The Conference organizers in collaboration with the editors of the peer-reviewed, indexed journals published by the University of Bialystok will invite the authors of selected conference papers to submit their manuscripts. Accepted papers will appear in special issues of the following journals:

We will ensure that the selected papers undergo a review process while maintaining the regular editorial, refereeing and revision standards of the journals.


Daniel Karczewski (chair)
Aleksandra Kowalewska-Buraczewska (secretary)
Piotr J. Malinowski
Ewa Lewicka-Mroczek
Dorota Szymaniuk
Edyta Wajda
Justyna Wawrzyniuk (secretary)
Paweł Dziedziul (webmaster)